Northern Territory Clinical Senate

Expressions of interest

Applications are open for membership to the Northern Territory Clinical Senate, read about the senate and how to apply.

Applications close on 13 July 2022.

The key focus of the Department of Health is to achieve the best health and wellbeing for all Territorians through the development, management and performance of the public health system.

The Northern Territory Clinical Senate has been established to provide the chief executive officer with advice about improving patient safety and the clinical quality of health services across the Northern Territory (NT).

Northern Territory Clinical Senate meeting communique

About the Northern Territory Clinical Senate

The NT Clinical Senate provides expert advice, information and recommendations to the chief executive officer in consideration of:

  • the department’s clinical governance strategy and its implementation
  • the department’s clinical quality and patient safety programs, standards, guidelines and indicators and the implementation of these
  • evidence-based strategies in relation to system integration
  • evidence-based strategies in relation to the management of consumers with complex or chronic conditions
  • clinical quality and patient safety issues regarding the Northern Territory health system, including access to health services by people living in remote communities.

Northern Territory Clinical Senate members

NT Clinical Senate members include 45 non-representational multi-disciplinary clinicians and consumers with appropriate skills and experience in clinical quality and patient safety systems and processes from across the broader NT health system to ensure there is both an internal and external perspective in improving quality and safety of health care delivery. The senate will be provided the strategic and policy advice and support of the NT Health chief professional officers.

The chair of the NT Clinical Senate is Dr Stephen Gourley.

Stephen has been the Director of Emergency Medicine, Alice Springs Hospital since 2010. Stephen has a Master in Health Management (NSW), a Graduate Diploma in Medical Education (Flinders) and is completing a Master in Public Health (UNSW). He has led the ASH Emergency Department through the transition into the new facility, stabilised the medical workforce and achieved 18 months’ accreditation for advanced training with the Australasian College of Emergency Medicine.

View the NT Clinical Senate - members bios DOCX (132.3 KB).


Northern Territory Clinical Senate
Fiona Wake - Director Clinical Excellence and Patient Safety or Stella Dixon - Secretariat NT Clinical Senate
Phone: 08 8999 2835

We thank Victoria Department of Health Victorian Clinical Council, for its assistance in the development of the documents on this website.

Last updated: 29 June 2022

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!