Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Worker and Practitioner Excellence Awards

About the awards

Aboriginal Health Workers and Aboriginal Health Practitioners are the essential conduit between traditional and western health services, working towards closing the health gap by delivering culturally safe, holistic and client focused care in often challenging circumstances and locations.

The awards are an opportunity to showcase outstanding members of these professional groups, recognising and acknowledging the significant contribution they make to their families, communities and to the healthcare system in the Northern Territory.

Congratulations to this year’s deserving recipients:

Read the recipient profiles

Student Award

Winner: Melissa Kungul, Wadeye Community
Highly Commended: Darren Braun, Danila Dilba Health Service and Megan Munckton, Tennant Creek Hospital

New Aboriginal Health Practitioner

Winner: Singita Campion, Gunbalunya Health Centre
Highly Commended: Heidi Chmielewski, Tennant Creek Hospital

Remote Aboriginal Health Worker

Winner: Darren Wanybarrnga, Ramingining Health Centre
Highly Commended: Charleene Bangarr, Gunbalunya Health Centre

Remote Aboriginal Health Practitioner

Winner: Emslie Lankin, Ntaria Health Centre

Urban Aboriginal Health Worker

Winner: Dannielle Townsend, Top End Health Service
Highly Commended: Craig Castillon, Top End Health Service

Urban Aboriginal Health Practitioner

Winner: Jenifer Hampton, Central Australia Health Service
Highly Commended: Gertrude Cusack, Top End Health Service

Specialist Aboriginal Health Practitioner

Winner: Wayne Campbell, Central Australian Aboriginal Congress
Highly Commended: Jeannie Campbell, Ti Tree Health Centre

Honour Roll

Gwendolyn Paterson-Walley, Central Australia Health Service
Esther-Rose Seaton, Top End Health Service

Thank you to all who supported the awards by taking the time to nominate their colleagues, and to our partners the Australian Government Department of Health, Rotary Club of Darwin Sunrise, United Voice, Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance Northern Territory (AMSANT) and the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Worker Association (NATSIHWA).

For more information about the roles of the Aboriginal Health Worker and Aboriginal Health Practitioner, please read the Factsheet.

For more information about the awards contact Aboriginal Workforce Development on (08) 8999 2999 or ATSIHPexcellenceawards.doh@nt.gov.au

The term Aboriginal is respectfully used throughout this document in reference to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 24 June 2020

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.