National Registration and Accreditation Scheme for health practitioners

Health practitioners in the NT are registered and regulated through the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme.

The Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) was established to provide support to the National Boards.

Under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law Act 2009, the Australian Health Ministers established national boards to regulate health professions in Australia:

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Board of Australia
Chinese Medicine Board of Australia
Chiropractic Board of Australia
Dental Board of Australia
Medical Board of Australia
Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia
Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia
Occupational Therapy Board of Australia
Optometry Board of Australia
Osteopathy Board of Australia
Paramedicine Board of Australia 
Pharmacy Board of Australia
Physiotherapy Board of Australia
Podiatry Board of Australia
Psychology Board of Australia 


Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency
Level 5  
22 Harry Chan Avenue  
Darwin NT 0800

Phone: 1300 419 495
Fax: (08) 8901 8502

Mail to

GPO Box 9958 
Darwin NT 0801

Last updated: 08 December 2016

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.