Office of Disability

Disability Advisory Committee

The Disability Advisory Committee provides an opportunity for Territorians with disability to advise the Minister for Disabilities on issues impacting their lives and their interactions with government services.

The Committee will:

  • represent the diversity of people with disability in the NT and provide advice on the issues affecting them.
  • assist in raising awareness of the rights of people with disability, and the role of government and the community in meeting obligations under the United Nations Convention on the Rights of people with disability.
  • support the Northern Territory Government as it works towards achieving the shared vision of the National Disability Strategy for an inclusive society that enables people with disability to fulfil their potential as equal citizens.

Terms of Reference


The Minister for Disabilities announced the members of the Northern Territory Disability Advisory Committee on 3 December 2019, the International Day of People with Disability.

Committee membership reflects the diversity of Territorians with a disability, and includes carers and people with disability from remote and urban areas of the Territory, Aboriginal people, young people and people with lived experience of cognitive, sensory, physical or psychosocial disability.

Snapshot of members:

65 % of members have a disability

30% of members are carers of people with disability

50% of members are Aboriginal Territorians

50% are from remote or very remote areas of the NT

50% of members are youth, carers of youth or have expertise in issues important to young people in the Territory.


Valda Shannon

Vice Chair

Chris Blackham-Davidson


Jameson Casson
Lily Reid
Marlene Karkadu
Joel Walker
Kate Jessica-Ranford
Christos Timotheou
Christine Cumaiyi
Gwilym Conran
Henbury School – Student Representative
Acacia Hills School – Student Representative


The Disability Advisory Committee meets at least three times a year.  A summary of the meeting will be posted on this website.

Meeting Schedule 2020

Meeting 1:

20 March 2020

Postponed as a result of COVID-19

Meeting 2

To be advised


Meeting 3

To be advised


Contact the Disability Advisory Committee Secretariat

Phone: 08 8999 2809
Mail: PO Box 40596 Casuarina NT 0811

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 08 April 2020

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.