Nursing and midwifery excellence awards

Tickets are now available to attend the Celebration Launch in Alice Springs and Gala Dinner in Darwin. Visit the tickets website for more information on these events and to secure tickets.

Nominations for 2017 have now closed.

The Northern Territory Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards continue to be the annual opportunity to recognise and reward outstanding achievements in nursing and midwifery. 

Past award recipients

The Office of the Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer would like to formally congratulate the recipients of the 2016 Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards.

The awards took place during International Nurses Week and were celebrated with three main events: an official launch held in Alice Springs and a gala dinner and professional education day (symposium) in Darwin.

Read the profiles of the 2016 award recipients.


Award categoryRecipient
Nurse/Midwife of the YearDiana Baseley: Maternity Unit, Alice Springs Hospital (CAHS)
NT Administrator's Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Nursing/MidwiferySandra McElligott: Remote Women's Health Educator (CAHS)
1st Year Graduate Nurse/Midwife of the YearIngrid Potgieter: Alice Springs Hospital (CAHS)
Excellence in Aged, Disability and Residential NursingRosemary Jeffery: Alzheimer's Australia (NGO)
Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery Education, Research and InnovationGina Majid: Paediatrics Ward, Royal Darwin Hospital (TEHS)
Excellence in Enrolled NursingKay Stevens: Rehabilitation Ward, Royal Darwin Hospital (TEHS)
Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery Hospital CareLèa Davidson: Preventable Chronic Disease Unit, Alice Springs Hospital (CAHS)
Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery LeadershipDiana Baseley: Maternity Unit, Alice Springs Hospital (CAHS)
Excellence in Alcohol and Other Drugs NursingKim Meighan: Alcohol and Other Drugs, Nhulunbuy (TEHS)
Excellence in Mental Health NursingKym Richardson: Adult Community Mental Health (MHAT), Top End Mental Health Service (TEHS)
Excellence in MidwiferyKatie Michell: Midwifery and Women's Health Outreach Team, Yulara, (CAHS)
Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery Community HealthEmma Louise Corcoran: Flynn Drive Primary Health Care
Excellence in Remote Health Nursing/MidwiferyE. Ann Sanotti: Nyrippi Primary Health Care Clinic (CAHS)


Award categoryRecipient
Nurse/Midwife of the yeaJeff Tinsley
Education, Research and InnovationJeff Tinsley
Enrolled NurseMaureen Stevens
Hospital CareAlison Bucklar
LeadershipWendy Corkill
Mental HealthAli Thorn
MidwiferyRosie Dowling
Primary Health CareMelissa Mills
Remote Area NursingRichard Van De Veerdonk
Aged, Disability and Residential Care NursingSarah Louise Ryan
Graduate Nurse/MidwifeMichelle Mason
NT Administrator’s Medal Lifetime AchievementMo Davey


Award categoryRecipients
Graduate of the YearClancy Tucker
Lifetime AchievementElaine McArthur
Aged, Disability and Residential CarePauline  Howard
Education, Research and InnovationLesley Scott
Enrolled NurseSandra Markovich
Hospital CareSusane Dalkie
LeadershipRaelene Carroll
Midwifery Tina White
Primary Health Care Services  Dorian Dent
Remote HealthMartina Grimshaw
Nurse or Midwife of the YearTina White


Award categoryRecipients
Graduate of the YearWoojung Jin
Living LegendPauline Hateley
Aged, Disability and Residential CareCatherine Brown
Education, Research and InnovationSuresh Sharma
Enrolled NurseMaria Howman
Hospital CareTom Harbinson
LeadershipTain Gardiner
Mental Health Leanore Torrens
MidwiferySheryl Alexander
Primary Health Care Services  Coralie Brannelly
Remote HealthMichele Smith
Nurse or Midwife of the Year                    Tain Gardiner

Last updated: 15 March 2017